Boggle Has a Dirty Mind

13 04 2010

I was going to make today’s post all about my even more traumatic second pregnancy, but I haven’t received any sudden blows to the head that made me lose my sense of humor. I cried over yesterday’s post, so today’s serves no purpose but to make me laugh. I’m not entirely sure it makes sense, and I’m relatively certain I’m going to get some frightening search terms and spammers based on the content…but I’m giggling, and that’s all that matters.

Hi. My name is Jenny, and I’m a Boggle addict.

It used to be TextTwist, but I overcame that addiction…and found something far more insidious. See, I think I’m just going to play one or two games, but then I get a “low score.” I’m putting that in quotes, because according to my family, my low score is an amazing score for any normal person. The only way they’ll even play Boggle in person with me is to give me a significant handicap.

I have a Boggle app on my Pixi. I paid $4.99 for this app, and it’s worth every penny.

When I get really stressed, I play Boggle in my head. I know you think I’m making that up, but it’s true. My brain is a scary, scary place.

All of this is completely irrelevant to the topic I’m addressing tonight.

I was playing a round of Boggle on my Pixi, which included the “Qu” cube. Lucky me, I could make the word queen! And queer! Or…not.

Apparently the word “queer” is on the list of banned words.

I understand the need for banned words. After all, you can’t just release a game willy-nilly if it’s going to let somebody type swears! (Although I do believe an exception should be made for “ass” since it’s an animal as well as a swear. Plus, it’s in the Bible!) But some of the “illegal” words are simply ridiculous. Here’s what I’ve run across so far:

Queer
Ass
Whore
Slut
Tits (I only mention this last one because I can use the word “tit,” but once it’s pluralized, it becomes dirty.)
Rape

I can, however, use the word anus*. Thank goodness. I’d about lost hope that I’d ever be able to giggle over a Boggle word again.

Having re-read the above list, I’m now wondering if all sex-trade identifiers are off-limits, or if it only applies to female roles. Is gigolo** a no-no? And if I can use the word anus, would other anatomically correct labels be allowable?

I guess I’ll have to play some more Boggle. For research purposes, of course.

*I don’t care that it’s juvenile. The word anus is funny. If you don’t agree, you’re probably a proctologist. Which is also funny.

**The WordPress dictionary doesn’t have the word gigolo. I thought you’d want to know.


Actions

Information

7 responses

13 04 2010
Aimee

LOL! Oh goodness… you made me giggle with the anus remark. And just wait until you start seeing the search queries that will bring people to THIS post. 🙂

13 04 2010
Kristina P.

OH.MY.GOSH. We are soulmates. I just found a Boggle-like game on my phone for free. I am addicted. My friend and I used to play this game in college. My husband doesn’t like word games, so I am so happy to have found it!

And honestly, it doesn’t accept commonly used words, but it accepts sh*t and other stuff. Weird.

You are also falling down on your stalker duties. Did you not see my Glamour Shot?

13 04 2010
jenndola

I was going to surprise you by showing up at GNO with your face screened across my ample bosom, but now you’ve ruined it. Jerk.

14 04 2010
Cori

Hooray for Boggle!! I love it and now I’m going to have to get the app for my iphone. As for your list of dirty words – you can play all of those on scrabble (last I checked), so scrabble will continue to be my game of choice! Loved your post Jen!

14 04 2010
Alicia

Funny!!- interesting side note: I ended up giving my Boggle to my Uncle for Christmas because he was having to order one from England. They were going for $40 on ebay – something about them not being produced anymore I guess. Now I wish I kept my hands on it!

14 04 2010
Janice

Anus…HA! I love it! I think it’s really stupid that you can’t use certain words. Just because their naughty words doesn’t make the non-words? Is non-words even a word? Boggle it and let me know!

15 04 2010
Leanneq

Boggle is amazing, we play it at all the family gatherings. My grandparents have Big Boggle, though, which has a 5×5 board and is way better. We’ve never been able to find one in a store, though 😦

Leave a comment