A Very Special Message from your local pharmacy, Part I

2 03 2010

*This is part one of what I’ve decided will be an ongoing series. I started writing it about 3 weeks ago, and saved a draft because I wasn’t done listing all of the things that irk me. I’ve now come to the conclusion that this list will never be complete, and therefore must be posted in increments.

 

For those of you who may not know (and didn’t bother reading the “About Me” section – jerks) I’m a part-time pharmacy technician. I love working in the pharmacy, and I’d probably be a full-fledged pharmacist if it didn’t involve chemistry and other frightening sciency-type things. It’s the perfect way to take a break from my kids and make a little money at the same time.

There are, however, nights when I wonder why I keep doing this. Since Wednesday was one of those nights, I’ve decided to compile a list of things your pharmacy would like you to know.

1. We’re open 12 hours. We understand you have a life and sometimes can’t make it in until the last minute, but when you come in at 8:50 every time and we close at 9:00, don’t expect us to be thrilled to see you. We  have lives outside the pharmacy.

2. I realize just about every profession says this at some point, but it’s worth restating: Your emergency is not necessarily my emergency. If you get a pre-procedure prescription and hold onto it until the night before your surgery, there’s no point in being angry with us if we don’t have the medication. It doesn’t matter how many times you say, “But I need it tomorrow! What am I supposed to do?” We have not, as yet, figured out a way to make medications magically appear. As soon as we do, we’ll let you know.

3. While we’re on the topic of out-of-stock medications, we’re sorry we don’t always have everything you need in the quantity you require. We try our best to run a fully stocked pharmacy, but it’s inevitable that we’ll run out of medications from time to time. If this happens to you frequently, talk to a member of our staff, and we’ll be happy to remedy that problem. Most prescriptions can be ordered in for the next day, but in the event you need something immediately, we’ll call the other local pharmacies to see if they have your meds. We really do want you to get what you need.

4. Yes, I do need your insurance card. Hopefully to most of you this seems obvious, but based on the interaction I had Wednesday night, it needs to be restated. Behold:

“Have we filled prescriptions for you before?”
“No.”
Do you have insurance we should bill?”
“Yeah. PEHP.”
“Do you have your card?”
“No. Do you need it?”
“Only if you want me to bill them.”
*customer glares at me*

Okay, yes, I was a bit snippy with that last statement, but I think I get props for not going with, “Oh, no. Why would I need your card? I’ll just pull the information right out of my nether-regions.”

To be continued…

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 03 2010
Aimee

Ahh, the joys of customer service jobs. 🙂 Can’t wait to read more.

9 03 2010
Steve

*LOL* Reminds me of a statement I use quite frequently where I work.. “Poor planning on your part does not necessitate an emergency on my part”.. That usually sends them away whining to their managers..

Leave a Reply

