What’s in a name?

16 03 2010

Why is it that the second I sit down to blog–at 12:30 am, no less–my child wakes up? Is this some sort of cosmic commentary on my blogging abilities?

Moving along. I’m a traditionalist when it comes to names. I’m aware that some view naming their children as some kind of art form or something, but I’m not one of those people. In fact, while running down the list of names for my boys, I spent an inordinate amount of time contemplating the different ways their names could be used to mock them. That’s not just me, right? It seemed like an important thing to do.

I see a lot of different names come through our pharmacy. Some are what I would consider normal. Others are riding along the fringe. Still others…well, they defy description. With that in mind, I present my very first poll!

I did not make up any of those names. Seriously.

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 03 2010
Danessa

Are you serious? I am the only one who thinks Byn is really really REALLY stupid?

16 03 2010
Erika Hill

I think it’s a parent’s solemn responsibility to think of every way that their child could possibly be mocked for their name. I try to like names that aren’t in the top 10 (no Chloe (although that’s my dog…), Emily, or Isabella), but also names that aren’t freaking ridiculous.

Have you seen the facebook group, “My sister said that if I get 1,000,000 fans she’ll name her baby Megatron”? It’s got like 2,000,000 fans. I hope, for that baby’s sake, that he’s a big big boy, because no wimp can pull that off.

18 03 2010
Rachel Mitchell

weirdo and/or made-up names are one of my big pet peeves. come on people, your kids have to live with these names for the rest of their lives! who wants to be t.rex when they’re 80?

Leave a Reply

