I Might Need to Up My Concerta

31 03 2010

I sat down at the computer at 3:00. It’s now 3:15, and I’ve started typing. Not because I’ve been thinking about what I’m going to write. Silly people. That implies I put some kind of effort into this. No, because I had to check comments and then look at other people’s blogs and then oh look, WordPress has something up about Ada Lovelace, and I have absolutely no idea who that is, so I really ought to click that link and read about her. Yeah. It might be time to tinker with the ADD meds.

So now it’s 3:15 am and I’m writing my post for the day even though technically it’s a new day. But obviously I had Very Important Things to do if I stayed up this late. Like…you know…erm…well. I did make considerable progress on the Wii Barnyard game. You know, the one I bought so Big G would have something to play. Oh, and I did two loads of laundry! Where’s my gold star?

Logic apparently holds no place in my life. I have a miserable headache. I’m exhausted. I’m coming down with a cold. I have to get up in four hours. WHY AM I AWAKE? I can’t even blame insomnia. The minute my head hits the pillow, I’ll be out. It’s obviously not because I have so many things to do (even though I do, but they aren’t getting done).

Lucky for all of you, I know exactly why I’m awake, and I’m going to share!

I’m never alone. Ever. I sometimes lock myself in the bathroom (with the fan on to drown out the boys) just to have five minutes by myself. So to sit here in the wee hours of the morning, surrounded by silence, is an indulgence of the richest kind–second only to Sunday afternoon naps. Once I go to bed, it’s over. See, God, in his infinite wisdom and completely wack sense of humor, blessed me with a child who very possibly hates mornings more than I do. The smallest thing leads to a tantrum of epic proportions. You think I’m exaggerating how bad it is, but I don’t think that’s possible. Here’s a small excerpt from this morning:

Big G: Mom, get up! It’s morning!
Me: Glearbeahtng
Big G: Mom! It’s MORNING!

Normal so far, right? So I reach for a shirt. It’s laundry day and I don’t have any big plans in public, so I grab an orange-striped shirt that I don’t wear very often.

Big G: I don’t like that shirt.
Me: Well, it’s a good thing you’re not wearing it, then. I put the shirt on.
Big G: Mom! I DON’T LIKE THAT SHIRT!
Me: You can’t possibly be serious.
Big G: YOU CAN’T WEAR THAT SHIRT! Big G throws himself on the bed, sobbing.

The rest of the morning is pretty similar: Mom! I want to sit on that side! Gideon needs to be over there! And my personal favorite: I WANT TO PLAY DUCK-DUCK-GOOSE!

Really. I couldn’t make these things up. Who could possibly envision a 4-year-old who goes into near-epileptic fits when I tell him I won’t play duck-duck-goose before breakfast?

I’m rambling now, and I’ve already written more than I intended–and not even on the topic I planned.

I am curious, though–how do you balance?

And on a completely unrelated note that I have to write while I’m thinking about it: My hormones are totally out of whack. I think I must be going through perimenopause or something. Today I watched The Princess and The Frog for the first time and I fricking CRIED when the bug died. That just ain’t right, people.

Also? STOP ASKING ME IF I WANT TO RESTART MY COMPUTER, WINDOWS. I’m happy you’ve decided to update yourself, but I’m kind of busy here. And now I’m talking to software. I’m just going to stop typing now.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 04 2010
Pearl

Your son seriously sounds like mine! He’s not quite 4 but let me tell you…attitude of a teenaged girl! He’s like a light switch, happy one minute and totally freaking out the next! Your post makes me feel like my life is normal or at least what I experience with my kids is normal. At least someone else goes through similar situations as I do!

1 04 2010
Rachel Sue

I’m right there with you. I have an almost 3 year old son, and he throws tantrums with the best of the drama queens.

I thought boys were supposed to be LESS dramatic than girls.

P.S. Welcome to MMB!

6 04 2010
Emily Miller

I cried when the bug died, too. Well, actually, I cried at the part when his “star” popped up next to Evangeline.
*Sniff*
You should have your son watch the episode of Blues Clues where they talk about what to do when you get frustrated.
Stop.
Breath.
Think.
Priceless. 🙂

6 04 2010
jenndola

Thank you for validating me, Emily. 😉

I’ll have to find that episode. I don’t know how much effect it will have on him, but it might be fun to keep telling him those things just to watch him get even more pissed off. I’m such a fantastic mom!

Leave a Reply

